Greg's blog

Blog update

I've updated my blogging platform again, this time to Bear. I don't blog enough that many (any?) people will be affected by this, but I wanted to quickly go over my decisions.

When I first started blogging, I started by running Wordpress on a Digital Ocean droplet. Coming fresh out of school this was fun to run a small project with a LAMP stack, but I didn't ever set up any health checks or any monitoring so it would often crash and it would be days before I noticed anything had happened. I was never a big fan of Wordpress so I later switched to Ghost, which was nice that it let me use markdown, but I kept trying to self host with similar results. Eventually I decided to save myself the few bucks a month and move my blogs to GitHub gists. This is fine, but it's not exactly the best format for blogging.

Lately I've been reading about the web revival and the notion of a plaintext web. It's funny that as a software developer who works with bloated frameworks all the time that I'm really desperate to use an internet that uses none of them. I want to read the content I want without the clickbait and tracking and personal data collection that the modern internet has become synonymous with. I'll probably write more later about these ideas, but suffice to say it lead me to Bear. So far it does everything I want: I can write basic markdown, add some simple styling, and it's hosted for me.

I'm looking forward to spending more time writing on this platform!

#bear